Resolve

I read, I watch,
I hear windows break,
doors break, and skulls too.
My own window is intact;
my door is safely locked.
Yet the tremors of shattering glass
Wring my gut.
The ogre sits to my right
Pulls me towards it
and screeches loudly
in my ear, “I am right”.
It shows me fractured facts,
manufactured proofs,
and mocks me.
“Do you even know?”

Do I even know?
I ask myself too.
Here they scream black
There they mum white.
The ogre speaks
It voices thoughts
But they are not mine.
Not anymore.
New seeds are sown
I have a mind of my own
My grasp new, grit still raw.
But I am free.

I will start small

I will read, I will speak.
I won’t let the ogre make me weak.

Author Bio
Aditi Bachhawat is a a work-in-progress human being who loves to read books, drink coffee, hug trees, and talk to stars. She tries to write poetry and non-fiction pieces which can be found on her Instagram account. Other times, she juggles life as a finance professional and a homemaker.

Redefining Nationhood
For Indian writers writing in English, this is a tumultuous time to be alive. Politically and culturally speaking, a lot is happening in our nation today. And these posts are our attempt to decipher, understand, and explore the concept of nationhood. Our writing is a celebration of what it means to belong to a nation that is as diverse and pluralistic as India is. And in this attempt, if we persuade people away from propaganda, we might have just created literature.
Do you think we have?
Leave a comment.
Like. Share.
Write like us.
Write for us.
#IndiansAgainstCAB, #IndiansAgainstCAA, #RedefiningNationhood, #BWWRedefinesNationhood, #BWWlife, #BWWlove

About bangalorewritersworkshop

Bangalore Writers Workshop (BWW) is interested in fostering the creative mind, encouraging a community, and making writers aware of who they are as creators of text. Bangalore Writers Workshop is a unique, effective, and interactive method of bringing a group of writers together and allowing them to study the craft of writing while simultaneously receiving constructive feedback on their own work. BWW uses the workshop method. We run intensive creative writing workshops with small groups in Bangalore. Our groups are fuelled by passion and the creative energy of people with diverse life experiences. Find out more on our website. www. Bangalorewriters.com
This entry was posted in Redefining Nationhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment